Tales from the Bargain Bin: Boba Fett Twin Engines of Destruction

By Max

Twin Engines of Destruction is a rousing tale of real Boba Fett versus fake Boba Fett.  Jodo Kast, an up and coming bounty hunter makes the poor decision of impersonating Boba Fett to gain access to better bounties. On one such bounty he runs into Dengar. Dengar realizes that Jodo, in the same Mandalorian armor as Fett, is not the real Fett. Afterwards Dengar notifies Fett of Jodo’s deception and they set in motion a plan to corner Jodo and put the charade to an end.

twin engines of destructionTwin Engines of Destruction was written by Andy Mangles and penciled by John Nadeau. It was published by Dark Horse Comics in January 1997, originally serialized in Topps’ Star Wars Galaxy magazine, issues 5 through 8 starting in the Fall of 1995. It can also be found in Dark Horse’s Star Wars: The Bounty Hunters trade paperback.

Coming into this comic I wasn’t a big fan of Boba Fett.  I understood why people loved him, his Expanded Universe (EU) stories show a sense of badassness, but for me I cling hard to my view of the Star Wars Universe through the scope of the original trilogy. In the original trilogy I felt Fett was a bit of a chump. Most of his scenes are him just standing around, he got some credit for Han’s capture without doing any work, and he gets taken out by a gaffi stick to the back, sending him into the sarlacc pit with a stock Wilhelm scream. Because of this I’ve never pursued reading any of his EU story lines, until now. I couldn’t pass up this comic, being both a comic and Star Wars lover, and I couldn’t just own it and never read it. After reading it I get it. Fett is tough. He does what he does very well and he makes an impression. I have a little more respect for him now.

As far as the story goes, it was well done. It was simple and enjoyable. Clear cut here’s the bad guy of the story, here’s the good guy of the story, and now they fight. I won’t sit here and say it’s the greatest story ever put to comic, it’s predictable, but then again a lot of stories are. It’s hard to bring a sense of uniqueness to story tropes. Many things have been done before and as a whole there isn’t much, if anything that hasn’t been done before. With that Mangles managed to keep me interested in the story. It stands out just enough to say “Ok, I like it.” My favorite parts were back and forth between Fett and Dengar. Now when I say back and forth it was more Dengar says this and Fett remains silent. Dengar’s responses to the silence were humorous and the interaction helped shape the characters.

The art was standard comic book fare. Several panels stood out to me, for they moved the story forward and told what was happening without having to use words. It had that classic Dark Horse Star Wars style that I’ve come to know. It brought me back to my childhood reading Star Wars comics because I could never get enough Star Wars. My favorite panels as far as the artwork go would be the few Boba Fett POV shots, the distinct red tone of the scene stands out and I don’t see enough of this in comics.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed the story. It’s unique enough to warrant a look and it delivers as promised. If you’re a Star Wars comic fan it’s a good addition to the collection and a rather inexpensive one. For the casual fan I’d recommend going for the trade paperback. It’s not a rare piece that has to be had. It’s worth a read but skip it unless you have to have it to complete a collection.

Tales from the Bargain Bin is a monthly column about cheap comics

Tell us what you think

