Hey, do you role play?

by Max

I’m a gamer, and by gamer I refer to tabletop games. I don’t want to get or sound snobby and start a debate over tabletop games versus video games, or what makes a “real” gamer. I just prefer tabletop games. I like video games, I play them quite a bit, but I’m not like my counterpart here at Nerdstafari, Ben, who can recite video game history, pull trivia out and share about it. I’m not that knowledgeable and I’ve invested more personal time into tabletop gaming.

If you were to take a look into my geek sanctuary you’d see the passion, the multitude of varied Role Playing Game (RPG) rule sets, each with many add-ons, over four pounds worth of dice, and many board games, and not of the Monopoly variety. I’ve spent much time and money on my tabletop hobby and have even tried my hand and design my own variations on the games I love.

My main area of focus is in RPGs. I’ve played other games, board games and war-games (Warhammer 40k, w00t w00t), but RPGs are and have always been my bread and butter. I can’t remember the first time I sat down and rolled a d20, but I do remember at a very early age, somewhere in the single digits, I first learned of Dungeons & Dragons. A friend’s older brother owned an early edition, probably second, and I noticed it in the house. I had no idea what it was or the impact it would later have on my burgeoning geekiness. Needless to say, my obsessive personality kicked in and I had to know what it was and everything about it.

Slowly over time I accrued friends with similar interests and finally met some mutual RPG fanatics. In my early teen years I had my real introduction into the world of tabletop games, playing Magic: The Gathering in the lunch room at school and finally getting to play Dungeons & Dragons. I had a friend whose parents played and on a weekly basis the parents and a group of friends would gather and immerse themselves into an ongoing campaign.

Ah, the glory days. Back when I really had no idea what I was doing, but no real responsibilities preventing me from playing whenever I wanted to. I was hooked, and fast, jumping from Dungeons & Dragons to Shadowrun and White Wolf’s Werewolf and Vampire. I couldn’t get enough of it.

Knowing myself far better now I’ve come to realize how much a golden treasure RPGs are. I’m obsessive, uptight and socially awkward and RPGs bring together a controlled social environment, with like-minded individuals, have rules and categorized, well, everything. For me it’s amazing. Plus it allowed me to tap into my most precious resource, my imagination.

These days I don’t get as much time to sling dice as I like and my books gather a little more dust then I’d prefer, but that comes with age and added responsibility. The same friends I played with High School went off to their respective colleges and formed new groups to slay dragons with, as did I, but the older I get the more those around me work longer hours and raise families, move away or are just too tired to have regular sessions. I’m not going to lie and say there isn’t a small amount of complaint in that, but I understand and work with the time I have and those around me have.

I know that I will continue playing until I am either dead or too senile to understand and I know many others out there feel the same way. I will raise my children to play the games in the hopes it fosters a long standing love of the games. I will support up and coming game developers and try new games, check out game shops in any town I visit, and I welcome any and every chance I get to play with a new person. RPGs are in my blood and I will slay dragons, kill vampire, and protect galaxies for as long as I can.

Comments
One Response to “Hey, do you role play?”
  1. Frankie says:

    A wonderful job. Super helpful innrimatoof.

Tell us what you think

